British poultry industry recognised at BPC awards

05-12-2014 | |
British poultry industry recognised at BPC awards

The British poultry industry has celebrated outstanding achievements and potential for excellence during the British Poultry Council Annual Awards at the House of Commons.

BPC Chairman John Reed presented the awards with Anne McIntosh MP, Chairman of the EFRA Select Committee and highlighted the unique contributions of each winner to the poultry industry.

The BPC Awards recognise years of distinguished service, contribution to marketing, potential for future excellence and support for the industry. This year the awards saw the launch of the BPC awards.

John Reed said: “These awards continue to be a great platform to showcase the real talent that lies at the heart of the industry. This year is no exception and I have been amazed at the positive contribution all the winners have made in order to receive these great accolades.”

Anne McIntosh MP welcomed the industry’s celebration of excellence: “Having a number of major poultry producers in my constituency, I recognise and welcome their contribution to the local economy and bringing food to our table. I congratulate all the prize winners and the British Poultry Meat Industry on their ambitious manifesto.”

The winners of the 2014 BPC Awards were selected by an expert judging panel and are as follows:

Distinguished Service Award Winner, Richard Hutchinson, sales director at Aviagen Turkeys, who has worked in the industry for three decades and achieved significant turkey parent stock sales to Eastern Europe, particularly in Russia.

Distinguished Service Award Winner, Lindsay Broadbent, Technical & Account Manager at Aviagen UK Ltd, the expert judging panel were impressed with his technical, organisational and personal contribution to the industry particularly in parts of Europe and the Middle East over the last 38 years. Lindsay retires this year.

Distinguished Service Award Winner, Noel Bartram, Retired, has over four decades working within the poultry industry and has held a number of positions within AVEC (the European body of Poultry Processors) the BPC and Red Tractor.

Marketing Award Winners, John and Anna Franklin, Franklin Farms, won the award due to their many years of work in marketing. They recently hosted the Annual Goose Walk at their farm. This involved welcoming over 100 people from the industry as well as local businesses and colleges, to come and talk about the current and forthcoming marketing conditions.

Mid-Career Award Winner, Alan Huston, General Manager-Breeders & Hatcheries at Moy Park, has now 24 years’ experience in the poultry industry. From the importation of grandparent day olds, through to producing day old broilers, Huston oversees operations, liaising with Moy Park’s growers and hatcheries in the UK. Huston is also responsible for the sale of parent stock to Europe and broiler hatching eggs to customers in the UK and the Middle East.

Special Merit Award Winner, Dr Tracey Jones, Director of Food Business at CIWF, won the award due to her collaboration with industry, NGO’s, and Government for over 20 years, and the judging panel were particularly impressed with her work on the welfare, behaviour and bathing water provision for ducks.

BPC Scholarship Award Winner, Henrietta Kodilinye-Sims, Veterinary Associate at Slate Hall Veterinary Practice, won the award for her work done to assess the comparability of dermatitis scores between processing plants.

BPC Scholarship Award Winner, Kay Russell, PHD Student at Scotland’s Rural College, won the award due to her ongoing work into immune responses to necrotic enteritis of broilers and exploring the interactions between genotype and the environment.

Rupert Chalmers-Watson Award Winner, Peter Bradnock, Policy Affairs Advisor to the International Poultry Council, as CEO of the BPC from 1993 to 2013 has been a long advocate of the Turkey Sector. He was also elected President of the Turkey Club UK at the Club’s AGM this year.