British Poultry Awards 2018 – Open for Entries

12-03-2018 | |
British Poultry Awards 2018   Open for Entries
British Poultry Awards 2018 Open for Entries

3 new awards have been added to the 2nd British Poultry Awards to recognise innovators in the supply chain.

There are now 15 categories in this year’s British Poultry Council awards, which will take place at the Sheraton Grand Park Lane hotel on 20 September.

Acknowledging those who have pushed boundaries

Richard Griffiths, BPC chief executive, said: “Our newly expanded awards means adding 3 new categories that will pay tribute to those in the supply chain who have pushed the boundaries in their area – be that innovation, production, technology or quality standards.

“We will be recognising those companies or individuals who have made a material difference in their respective field.

“The event itself brings the whole industry together and with the continued support of the top retailers we are providing a unique platform for small and large producers of chicken, turkey, duck and goose to gain recognition for their hard work.”

Student Chef of the Year

The Student Chef of the Year competition, sponsored by Aviagen Turkeys, is also part of the British Poultry Awards, with young catering students from colleges around the country competing to create the best turkey starter or turkey main course, to be served at the awards dinner.

The award categories are split between 8 product-based categories, 3 supply chain, 2 recipe competitions and the coveted retail foodservice operator of the year.

Shortlisted products will be assessed against set criteria such as taste, appearance, quality, packaging and best use of protein for the target market.

Poultry Retailer of the Year

The Poultry Retailer of the Year category winner has the opportunity to carry the endorsement on its entire range of everyday fresh poultry cuts for a period of 12 months, while all winners will benefit from a dedicated logo to use on their advertising and point of sale material.

Entries are now open and will run until 25 May with judging taking place in July. The entry form, categories and criteria are available at

Tony Mcdougal Freelance Journalist