USAPEEC elects new chairman

16-06-2014 | |
USAPEEC elects new chairman

Mike Little, director of export sales at Mountaire Farms in Selbyville, Del., has been elected chairman of the board of the USA Poultry & Egg Export Council (USAPEEC) for 2014-15.

Little succeeds outgoing Chairman Charles von der Heyde, president of Pilgrim’s of Mexico, and former vice president of international sales at Pilgrim’s headquarters in Greeley, Colo.

As chairman, Little will head the eight-member USAPEEC Executive Committee, which sets policy and gives direction to USAPEEC, an organisation whose mission is to promote and increase exports of US chicken, turkey, duck, and egg products worldwide.

Also elected to the executive committee were, as first vice chairman, Jim Wayt of Intervision Foods in Atlanta, and Steve Monroe of Sanderson Farms in Laurel, Miss., as second vice chairman. Joel Coleman, vice president and general manager of international sales at Butterball in Mt. Olive, NC, was re-elected secretary-treasurer of the organisation.

Neil Carey of Simmons Prepared Foods in Siloam Springs, Ark., was re-elected chairman of USAPEEC’s marketing committee. The chairman of this committee also serves on the board and has a seat on the executive committee.

Rounding out the executive committee as newly appointed at-large members are Steve Lykken of Jennie-O Turkey Store, and Greg Tench of Mar-Jac Poultry. Von der Heyde will remain on the executive as past-chairman.

Board members elected to three-year terms ending in 2017 are Carey, Scott Chapman, Lineage Logistics; Trent Goins, OK Foods; Butch Johnson, Globex International; Little; Thierry Murad, AJC International; Jay Simpson, Perdue Foods; Tench; and Chaz Wilson, Grove Services.

Board members whose terms end in 2016 are Ryan Downes, Farbest Foods; Larry Gibson, George’s; Jeff Johnson, Michael Foods; Sher Marshall, Interra International; Andrew Piper, Wayne Farms; Kent Puffenbarger, Prestage Foods; Bobby Wilburn, Peco Foods; and von der Heyde.

Board members whose terms end in 2015 are Mark Blanchard, NOCS; Coleman; Greg Hinton, Rose Acre Farms; Lykken; Monroe; Saher Rizk, Mirasco; Claudio Saviano, House of Raeford; and Wayt.



Join 31,000+ subscribers

Subscribe to our newsletter to stay updated about all the need-to-know content in the poultry sector, three times a week.