Hagen USDA Under Secretary for Food Safety

01-07-2010 | | |

US Senator Blanche Lincoln (D-Ark.), Chairman of the US Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry has announced the confirmation of Dr. Elizabeth Hagen as USDA Under Secretary for Food Safety.

“Maintaining the safety of our commercial food supply is one of the most important missions of USDA. Keeping the public’s faith in the integrity of our food systems will require increased coordination with all relevant agencies and I am pleased to know Dr. Hagen shares my commitment to keeping our nation’s food supply safe,” said Lincoln.

In addition to Hagen, the Committee confirmed Dr. Catherine Woteki as the Under Secretary of Agriculture for Research, Education and Economics. Also the committee confirmed Dr. Sara L. Faivre-Davis, Mr. Lowell Junkins and Dr. Myles Watts to the Federal Agricultural Mortgage Corporation Board of Directors.